The Road To Hijab

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

***If you would like to share this article, please do not post the entire article on a website, blog, group or forum. Instead only post the link. JazakumAllahu khair.***

THE ROAD TO HIJAB
By Tara Gregory

I want to share my story about my journey to wear hijab in the hopes that some aspiring sister will glean strength from it, insha’allah. Sisters, you can do it! Just keep in mind that
you need to please Allah (swt) before you please anybody. Shaitan is whispering in your ears and trying to keep you away from doing something that makes Allah (swt) happy. Don’
listen to him, because if you do you will be obeying him and this could make Allah (swt) angry. Shaitan is promising you good things if only you keep away from hijab. Really he is
deceiving you because he knows once you follow him he has fullfilled his promise he made to Allah (swt) to mislead others. Don’t let Shaitan make you one of his soldiers! Decline
his invitation to spend eternity in the hellfire! Instead, race to Jannah (heaven) sisters….and let hijab be one of your steps towards the finish line!

I reverted to Islam May 1996 after having been reading about it for almost 6 years. I have never regretted it only wish that I had took shahada sooner. I did not wear hijab at first,
only to wear to the mosque and during prayer times. I was aware that the condition of being a Muslimah required covering modestly yet I couldn’t act on it because of my fear of
other people. I was afraid of how they would treat me such as looking upon me in pity, in utter disgust, or just plain hatred. Actually my first bad encounter with hijab happened with
my sister. She picked me up from the mosque one day and when I got inside the car she told me to “take that “s***” off my head” I am soooo glad that the people standing out in
front of the mosque did NOT hear what she said. Needless to say, I refused to take off my veil until I got home.

Over the next three years my iman would increase gradually as I pursued knowledge in Islam more. In 1999 my iman was even stronger than the preceding years so much so that
the veil issue began to trouble me. It worried me so much cuz I actually thought of myself as “sinning” I had a choice to make, who was I supposed to be afraid of Allah or other
people?

I planned to wear my hijab in to work the first day of Ramadan. I had even layed out my veil and pins the night before so I didn’t have the excuse of “forgetting” to wear it. Once I
arrived at work I became more nervous because there were people looking at me in the parking lot already! With each step I got closer and closer to the building where I worked
and strangely more and more calm. Until I was on the elevator and in my office in no time. I breathed a sigh of relief that I hadn’t ran into anyone in the halls though. And my did I
have a surprise waiting for me. Each co­worker that passed me by just treated me like they always did on a normal day. One even remarked that my veil was beautiful and at least
two asked me if it was a special occassion (I had to laugh at that one) At the end of the day I couldn’t believe that I had worked myself up about nothing all of these years!
It was truly a success to wear hijab and I feel beautiful because I am doing a thing that pleases Allah (swt) I even get more respect when I am out. I don’t care what people think
anymore. If I find them staring at me I look back and smile. I am more often than not surprised to see them smiling back at me. For the ones that consider me a source of
amusement, the feeling is mutual! Hahahaha laugh all you want, laugh your way to hell.

I recommend this book on hijab: “Dearest sister: why not cover your modesty” by Abdul Hameed Al­Balali translated by Wael F Tabba

That’s all folks!

Published by

TG

Family historian of Broussard, Gregory, Sledge and Williams family tree

21 thoughts on “The Road To Hijab”

  1. Thanks so much for leaving such a wonderful post. People are so interested in hijab its wonderful and we need to keep asking our sisters to post their stories and encourage them to start putting hijab on, Contrary to belief hijab is beautiful and not a form of oppression but of freedom that Allah has granted women if people would only understand, and by submitting to the will of God we obtain the peace and dignity that is true beauty. jezakallah khair.

  2. You are very welcome. And thank you for such thought provoking comments on hijab. Insha’Allah Muslim women reading hijab articles will be inspired to cover and to continue covering when their iman gets low.

  3. Thank you. Your words are very encouraging and although i know wearing hijab is the right thing to do, i still find myself making excuses because i am afraid of what others will think

  4. You’re welcome Nicole 🙂

    These people will not help you get into jannah. You have to start caring about what Allah thinks of you, not them. When you are standing before Allah, are you going to use the excuse that you didn’t obey Him because you were too scared of what others thought of you? Allah created you, He has more right that you should be afraid of Him than others. May Allah grant you the strength to wear hijab today ameen.

    FiAmanAllah, Tara Umm Omar

  5. Dearest Tara,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post this blog – it was very inspirational. I am currently wearing the hijab but my iman is very low. The shytan unfortunately is making the most of this opportunity by whispering “sweet harams” in my ear!

    I am currently a full-time mum. I was recently contacted by my old work offering me a new job position. Once they heard that I had started wearing the hijab, they withdrew their offer.

    The temptation to remove the hijab is extremely strong when my iman is low, but I am fighting it. You are right when you say we must seek to please Allah (SWT) and not fellow human beings who are incapable of satisfying you fully. May Allah (SWT) bless us and guide us to the straight path of the deen inshallah – Ameen.

  6. Asalamu Alaikum Shrifa,

    Ameen Ya Rabbunna!

    You’re welcome. All Muslims experience fluctuations in their iman, sometimes its high and sometimes its low. Shaytan tries to attack us whether its high, to keep us from doing more good deeds and when its low to keep us from striving to do more good deed and urging us to commit bad deeds.

    Consider it a blessing that the company withdrew their offer. You wouldn’t want to end up working for an employer that has potential to discriminate against your hijab and force you to take it off to keep your job.

    Remain patient by keeping your hijab on and Allah will reward you with something better whether in this dunya or the akhira or both!

    FiAmanAllah, Tara Umm Omar

  7. Bless you sister and thank you.

    Can you tell me a little about the book you recommended in your blog. I am looking for a book that will both educate me and inspire me with regards to the hijab and our faith in general.

    Thanks again.

  8. Shrifa,

    Ameen and you also ameen. You’re welcome.

    Dearest Sister: Why not cover Your Modesty
    By Abdul Hameed Al-Balali
    Paperback , 58 Pages
    Translated into English by Wael F Tabba,
    Published by Dar al-Thakhair, Damman

    An Excerpt:

    Another group of our young sisters pertain their non-commitment to hide their modesty to the fear of not getting married.

    In many cases this dubiosity is shared by our sisters and their parents. It stems from the fear that young men will not ask for the hand of a girl for marriage unless they see her hair, her beauty, and the shape of her body. Therefore if the young woman was covered, then no one will approach her for. In fact Satan uses this fear to stir this dubiosity in their heart.

    There are two points that repudiate to this dubiosity: The first point: The ideological and theoretical aspect.

    Even though beauty is a major reason for marrying a woman, yet it is not the only reason. The Messenger of Allah (Peace be upon him), indicated the different reasons which make men marry. He said: A woman is married for four reasons; her wealth, her family, her beauty, and her piety; do your=20 best to win the pious one, may your hand be soiled with dirt. (The last phrase is used as a form of affection). (Sahih Al-Bukhari) The above hadith clearly indicates that people do not seek beauty only. Rather there are reasons and conditions that may be less, more, or as important as beauty. Consequently, assuming (as some of our sisters and their parents do) that beauty is the one and only thing that people are looking for, while searching for a wife is not true. It indicates ignorance of the nature of man.

    The second point: The practical aspect.

    Many of the young men in our society, insist on marrying a woman committed to covering up her modesty and of good reputation, even though the suitor himself might not be committed. Consequently, displaying the young woman’s beauty and make up, may be the reason why young men would not approach a prospective wife. The young men’s logic is that if this woman has carelessly ignored a divine order, (which is to cover up her modesty), then it is also likely that she may disregard other divine orders. For the ways of Satan are gradual.

    “Say to the believing men that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty: that will make for greater purity for them: And Allah is well acquainted with all that they do.”

    “And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what (must ordinarily) appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands, their fathers, their husband’s fathers, their sons, their husbands’ sons, their brothers or their brothers’ sons, or their sisters’ sons, or their women, or the slaves whom their right hands possess, or male servants free of physical needs, or small children who have no sense of the shame of sex; and that they should not strike their feet in order to draw attention to their hidden ornaments. And O ye Believers! turn ye all together towards Allah, that ye may attain Bliss.” {TMQ 24:31}

  9. Alsalam alaykom

    This is a interesting article, and i wan tto thanks you for publish this so we can all read it.
    I recently converted to islam in august this year. I´m a single mom of four children. Three girls 21,18,16 and one boy of 9 year old AlhamduIllah.
    Well not all take my convertion good. My eldest doughter (who lives out of my home already) left me for my Islam. My second doughter can’t accept it either. She make many problems and fights with me untill i say her to stop, i not bother her with this, so she can stop or see for other solution if she can not live with me and my decision, but not every day live in fight.
    Untill now i not wear the hijab. I really want to, but i feel not strong enough yet.
    I have no family exept my mother ( not good contact and i see her not much bcz she have new husband) and my children.
    I already loose one doughter, and my second doughter told me if you gonna wear hijab i will leave you to becouse i will be ashamed of you.
    Every day i ask Allah to give me more strenght, and to give me the currage to wear the hijab one day. I know i’m gonna wear hijab one day, but now i know it sound silly, i’m yust scared to loose another doughter and i’m now not strong enough to do.
    And i know if i die i stand alone towards Allah, no child of mine is with me.
    But i have only my children, and that’s what i always lived for (i had a very terrible life before here)
    So inshaa Allah i will wear hijab one day and then i never take it off again.

    That’s why i wanted to give my comment, becouse articles as this one of you, make me feel i’m not alone in it. There are more woman who struggle with the fact of wearing the hijab.

    Thank you sister, may Allah belss you.

    salam and best regards from the Netherlands,
    Marianne

  10. Wa alaikum salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh Marianne,

    I’m sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your daughters. Obviously this is a test from Allah. Sometimes Allah tests us through what we love the most. And shaytan tries to persuade you from doing what Allah loves and commands for you. Do not let your daughter try to blackmail you into not wearing hijab. It should not matter whether she goes or stay if you wear hijab, what should matter the most is your intention to please Allah. You should have complete trust in Him that if you wear hijab and your daughter leaves then He will compensate you with something better and reward you for doing something for His sake rather than your daughter’s sake. And how do you know for certain that she would leave? She might be all talk and no action! You probably think its a tough decision to have to choose between a child and a hijab but actually you should choose the akhira (next world) over the dunya (this world). And sister, our children do not belong to us. They are on loan to us from Allah. If we think we have no one left in this world and that includes children, we still have Allah.

  11. i say assalaama alaykum all muslim sisters where ever you are and i beg allaah for all muslimiin to give forgiveness and give guidence.
    my name is sucdi i live in usa.
    i wear hijaab and niqab for along time i wore when i was teenager i was in muslim country it was somalia now i live in usa i still wear my hijab and niqab and glove and i go college,to wear niqab for non muslim country neede strength but i feel comfortable wearing what ever allaah say .
    but i still confuse if it is obligotary to wear muslim girls niqab or if it is sunnah.
    i mostly hear that it is obligotry and the scholars are taken as daliil in QORAN and HADITH and opinion of the great scholars
    1)for the quran surah AHZAB ayah 59
    O’prophet!tell your wives and your daughter and the women of the believe to draw thier cloaks (hijab)veil all over thier bodies that is the most convenient that they should be known and not molested and ALAAH is oft-forgiving most merciful.
    and there is anather ayah surah AL-NUUR ayah30and31.
    2)for the hadith
    you can look for ahaadith
    AL-BUKHRI volume 1 book8 hadith 282.

  12. Sucdi- Wa alaikum salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh. Welcome to Islamic Articles and thank you for commenting. May Allah reward you for having the courage wear niqab in a non-Muslim country ameen.

  13. Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh”
    Dearest Tara.
    Excellent article MashaAllah.
    Indeed the Muslim woman is a creature of modesty. Allah loves for our Muslim women to be shielded by their Hijab. It is their outer protection from the decadence of this life.
    Sometimes it can be quite difficult for the Muslim woman to go out wearing Hijab in a society that mocks and torments her. Indeed, she may feel strange and out of place. However, if she knows the status of those who are mocked by the disbelievers, then she would continue to wear her Hijab with dignity.
    The beauty of a woman is not only in her physical features, but rather in her character, personality, and in her piety. A woman who is able to face the world with a smile and graciousness in the event of trials and struggles, and can stand tall knowing that she is working for a home in paradise, radiates a light and glow that cannot be hidden.
    So sisters out there who are struggling know that the the Hijab is freedom not oppression.

  14. Sarah- Wa alaikum salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh. Welcome to Islamic Articles and thank you for commenting. What beautiful, inspiring statements you made masha’Allah. Insha’Allah hijabi sisters will be motivated to continue covering against all odds for the pleasure of our Rabb.

  15. I want to know how to wear hejab and it will not slide on my head, every time I wear it after eating or even after short time it lostes it shape.. I dont know really how to wear it proper;y, i wear it in Egyptian way, but it seems not good for me.. aaaa.. I am convert too:) and my congratulation my sis:)

  16. Basia- Asalamu Alaikum. Welcome to Islamic Articles and thank you for commenting. You have to wear a cotton bonnet cap underneath the hijab to keep it from sliding off. Here is an example of one…

    http://www.2hijab.com/cotton_bonnet_cap_10.asp

    Insha’Allah that will help you. Let me know if you need further assistance. Take care

  17. Assalamu’alaikum, dear sisters…

    After reading both the article and the comments I couldn’t feel anything but grateful because I happen to live in a country which is very familiar with hijabs…anyways, I’m living in Indonesia. But there is something that is bothering me so much, there are many women who still don’t understand the essential of hijab. They only grab the idea that hijab is for covering their body and their heads. There are still women who wear tight shirts, tight t-shirts, tight pants..and the headscarf is not enough to cover their front part of their chests. I hope it’s because they don’t know the knowledge, not because of their ignorance.

  18. Verra- Wa alaikum salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh. Welcome to Islamic Articles and thanks for commenting. Ignorance is bliss but should not be used as an excuse for not properly covering. In a country with such a high Muslim population as Indonesia, I’m sure all girls have some exposure to Islamic studies and are taught about hijab.

A penny for your thoughts...

