Questionnaire: Recommendations/Advice For Non-Saudis Marrying Saudis

My apologies for not including a more in-depth introduction to my questionnaire, a serious oversight on my part. I firmly believe it is crucial to give some background on why a questionnaire has been created and how the answers will be utilized.

On a previous questionnaire which queried why non-Saudi women thought their Saudi husbands married them, a respondent suggested that I also should have asked whether it would be recommended for non-Saudis to marry Saudis. Then I received a comment on my blog, Future Husbands And Wives Of Saudis, from a Bahraini woman who relayed her fears about marrying a Saudi and moving to Saudi Arabia. I decided to include questions on advice for those marrying Saudis and living in Saudi Arabia.

I wish someone had given me recommendations and advice before I married my Saudi husband. Just so that I knew what I would have been getting myself into and what to expect out of life with a Saudi man and residing in his country. Why not share your experiences and life lessons in the form of advice/recommendations with those who are considering trudging down the same path as you?

King Fahd himself gave advice on Saudis marrying non-Saudis and I will be incorporating that in the article insha’Allah. From the responses of the below questionnaire, I hope that we will be helping others make an informed decision regarding marrying a non-Saudi and living in Saudi Arabia if they ever choose to do so.

This questionnaire is for non-Saudi men/women engaged to or formerly engaged to, married to, divorced from, and widowed by Saudis. No name needed unless you specify you’d like it displayed next to your response. Emails will be kept confidential. Unlimited reply length.

1. Would you recommend marriage to a Saudi? yes or no
a. Why or why not:

2. What advice would you give to someone who intends to marry a Saudi?

3. Would you recommend living in Saudi Arabia for those who marry Saudis? yes or no
a. Why or why not:

4. Any other advice/recommendations you’d like to impart?

Instructions:

A) In the “to” field of an email, type my email addresses: taraummomar@gmail.com or islamisno1@yahoo.com

B) In the “subject” field of an email, type Questionnaire: Recommendations/Advice For Non-Saudis Marrying Saudis.

C) Copy and paste question numbers 1-4 into the body of an email.

D) Answer questions.

E) Send answers to either one or both of my email addresses listed above.

Please pass on to others you think would be interested in participating.

Thank you all for your time, I really DO appreciate it!

Tara Umm Omar

Published by

TG

Family historian of Broussard, Gregory, Sledge and Williams family tree

2 thoughts on “Questionnaire: Recommendations/Advice For Non-Saudis Marrying Saudis”

  1. salam – Not sure what the fuss is all about. I have married a Saudi – been married for sometime AH and am very happy. I have lived in the US and Saudi and have had ZERO issues. And yes, I will not discourage anyone from doing such a thing. I know of many failed marriages and they span all types of nationalities. Good and bad people are everywhere. Generalizing any one nationality seems to be a thing from the ignorant times.

    We Muslims blame the media for things that we would like to see them blamed for and we listen to them when we want to listen to them. We need more of an open mind.

    Salam

  2. Asalamu Alaikum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh

    Thank you for commenting. There is no fuss but it does require anyone reading the results of the questionnaire (link provided below) to have an objective mind or as you said…an open mind. This is an opportunity for those who are/were married to Saudis to recommend/advise the women who are considering marrying Saudi men in the future. For example, some of these women have good marriages with their Saudi husbands yet still wouldn’t recommend/advise any other women to marry a Saudi. It is their opinion based upon perceptions and personal experiences. Anyone reading their statements can choose to take their advice or leave it. Just so that they know, they were informed of the good AND the bad beforehand.

    May I have your permission to copy and paste your comment from this blog onto my other blog, Future Husbands & Wives Of Saudis? You would be the 11th respondent and it would appear here…

    http://taraummomar.blogspot.com/2009/03/things-you-should-know-before-marrying.html

    You may remain anonymous or choose a nickname.

    Jazaki’Allahu khair,
    Tara Umm Omar

A penny for your thoughts...

